Gentlemen

” they say being a male is a matter of birth, being a man is a matter of age… but being a gentleman is a matter of choice “

Unfortunately, today gentlemen are a rarity. Many of the boys forget about the good manners and act like they have no obligations at all. We’ve almost forgot how a real man should look like. There are many things that men nowadays do not respect and moreover, many of them behave unjustly towards the female gender. Each boy receives some education in early years, but with the time and living environments, depending on friends and interests, some of them forget to be men, and act like losers. I do not want to be rude, but sometimes I wish that in my way would appear a real man who could make the male gender pride ourselves in the fullness meaning of this word.

These days a found a list of the rules to always being a gentleman and I think it’s worth reading and following :

  • Say ” Please” and “Thank You”;
  • Work hard;
  • Mind your manners;
  • Offer a woman your seat;
  • Don’t curse;
  • Extend a firm hand shake;
  • Keep your word;
  • Respect your elders;
  • Always make eye contact;
  • Open doors for others;
  • Stand up straight;
  • Stay well-groomed;
  • Act chivalrous;
  • Read books often ;
  • HAve a romantic sensibility;
  • Shy away from gossip;
  • Be punctual;
  • Love well;
  • Stay humble.

“A smart guy will open your mind, a good-looking man will open your eyes, but a gentleman will open your heart.”

A good-looking man is always an attractive one, but when he shows his good manners it’s even better. I think that men that wear suits are more handsome than those who have no style and wear sport clothes. But that’s only my point of view and I’m sure that many girl love those boys for their virtues  not for their type of clothing.

One day I had a great surprise, a strange boy gave me a rose, I guess that was because he was waiting for his girlfriend and she didn’t come.  But still, it was a very noble gesture. Not every day you get flowers, beautiful words in your address or even pleasant glances from men. However, it would be nice if at least once, women could feel wanted and appreciated for their way of being and men to be proud of their deeds.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Gentlemen

  1. Mike10613 says:

    Hi,

    I help students in China and one has come to England to study and so I met her for the first time a few weeks ago. She said I was a gentleman when comparing me to my friend who is half my age. She came to see me with another student and brought gifts from China. I picked them up outside a Metro station and of course opened the car door for them. I admit i’m not always dressed smart, but i was that day. Not sporty, but not formal either; that can be intimidating. I was going to cook for them. I knew she liked chicken, but she had been eating that for 3 days. My second choice was a take-away, they were closed. I took them shopping and I paid for the food and odd things like a can opener. The bill was about 40 pounds, but it will only be once. I have bought a few thing for her since, when I see Chinese food. I made them welcome in my home and answered questions and made sure they had everything they needed, without any fuss. Then I drove them back to the city to their halls of residence before it got dark and helped with things like showing them how the can opener worked.

    I think the most important thing though is being honest and behaving in an acceptable way. My young friend thinks they aren’t interested because I haven’t seen them since, but I chat every day online and make sure she is OK. I have also advised on her studies and her dissertation. I don’t have children, but I can now imagine what it’s like! Maybe, the young men that you meet haven’t yet grown up. Some never will. I always tell young ladies that profanities are unacceptable and so are the men that need to use them.

Leave a Reply

